Paris’ Fête de la Bastille

I couldn’t resist taking these pictures of the apricots because the saturated colours captivated me so.  It was the afternoon of July 14th and preparations were underway for a picnic in the park just below the Eiffel Tower, in the Champs des Mars.  I had never before celebrated Fête de la Bastille in France so I was particularly excited.  Festivities were to begin in short order.  It was a memorable night.

brite coloursabricots

My Parisian friends invited me to stay with them.  Fortunately for me, they live in the fabulous Montmartre district and I was blessed to have the panorama of the city as I did.  From my room, I had views of which I could identify, as countless landmarks, the following:  la Tour Eiffel, la Tour Montparnasse, l’Opéra Nationale, l’Eglise des Invalides.

IMG_2693

I picked up a copy of the Pariscope and lined up some activities for the week that included:  a visit to the Musée Rodin, ‘Parrworld‘ – a Martin Parr photography exhibit at the Musée du Jeu de Paume at the Place de la Concorde, a stroll through the (gardens of) Jardin des Tuileries and Jardin du Luxembourg, where I engaged in a friendly chess match with a transplant from Barcelona, the city of my father.  What I enjoyed most of all, however, was the exhibit ‘l’Art du carnet de voyage‘ at the Musée de la Poste.  Displayed were travel sketchbooks of illustrators and globe-trotters, whose artistic expression was captured in varying techniques of watercolour, pen & ink and graphite – drawings of landscapes, street scenes, people and architectural details.  Knowing full well that you need a lifetime to discover Paris, I didn’t even try to do everything on this trip.tuileries gateflirtingmartin parrsketchbook

Leave a Reply

