Discovering the Best Of

If you’ve ever picked up and started life elsewhere, you can probably relate to some of my experiences. Incomunicada for the past couple of months, I’ve (re) surfaced. I moved to Toronto from Boston this summer but only started ‘living’ here in September and it’s been a whirlwind ever since. Big changes all round, more than just geographical.

‘Joining stuff’ was priority numero uno. I knew a total of two people when I arrived. Actually, a few more than that but hadn’t connected with them since heading to the States in ‘98. Determined to build a network, I started filling up my calendar: besides three evening classes, the first week alone I went to four Meet-Up gatherings. Realistically, that’s not a momentum I can maintain but there’s no excuse to find oneself alone for long in a metropolitan city. There’s tons of stuff here (free too) to tap into, to attend: exhibitions, symposiums, and cultural festivals up the yin-yang and Blog TO has Best Of city guide lists to help us newbies: best barber shop, jerk chicken, microbrewery, pet grooming, and splurge sushi – whatever your fancy. Toronto is a city that’s building, a city that’s booming and one of its best photoblogs, a daily dose of imagery, is a great source of inspiration for me.

Azure Publishing is where I work now. Azure is a Canadian magazine that covers international architecture and design projects and products and I have been a fan for ages. Working in the writing and editing industry is indeed a shift from my background in architecture firms but it’s something I’ve wanted to explore for some time. I may not have a clear picture yet but at least I’m thinking about what I wanna be when I grow up. You can see a little of what I’ve been up to here. (below is the view from my desk)

I’m happy and lucky to be busy during this transitional time. Actually, I’ve been busting a hump, which hasn’t left much time for writing in my personal blog so this weekend will be one of decompression.

I left a wonderful bunch of friends in Boston and I’m hoping I can entice them to visit. Nudge nudge wink wink… Form an orderly queue, people!



One response to “Discovering the Best Of

  1. Congratulations on the new job! Fantastic. If I could, I would come visit you to-day. Miss ya,
    B

    Like

Leave a Reply

