Walls of Dubrovnik

The historic walled city at the southernmost tip of Croatia is as exceptional from the ground as it is from the sky. Massive stone walls run high and low, encircling the Old Town of Dubrovnik and framing an uninterrupted course on the edge of the Adriatic Sea. Dotted with turrets and towers, the two kilometre-long climb reaches its peak at 25m, overlooking terracotta rooftops as far as the eye can see.

Though built during the Middle Ages, the Great Wall has been reinforced throughout its history, and remains remarkably intact. Some of its fortresses and defensive towers serve as jumping off points for bathers and are even used as bars. Having a nighttime drink on the cascading rock edge is a delightful sensory experience. It’s pitch black – just moonlight, candlelight, and the constant rhythm of the waves.

40 responses to “Walls of Dubrovnik

  1. nazarioartpainting

    Lovely photos and beautiful places

    Like

  2. jumpingpolarbear

    Croatia is paradise on earth :).

    Like

  3. Great reminders of my one-day visit to this wonderful city! Thanks for sharing your visit.

    Like

  4. i’ve been to the croatian coast to hvar and split and loved them both. these pictures confirm that on my next trip i have to go to dubrovnik as well. thanks for sharing your awesome pictures!

    Like

    • Thanks for your note!!! Dubrovnik was wonderful – even more nearby islands to explore next time. And when you’re ready to go back up North, it’s fun to take the ferry over to Bari, Italy…en route to Roma. πŸ™‚

      Like

  5. Walled, coastline cities like this are absolutely stunning…but I always find myself pondering the concept of erosion. Won’t this place one day fall, piece by piece, into the surrounding waters? Or am I just being a pessimist?

    Lovely photos…

    πŸ™‚

    Like

  6. Daydreaming about Croatia…love the photos.

    Like

  7. Wow, gorgeous photos! So wanting to add Croatia to my travel list now. And a moonlight drink on the walls of Dubrovnik sounds like a must!

    Like

  8. Wow…I love the terracotta rooftops as far as the eye can see!! And the fortresses used by sunbathers…so cool! I can’t wait to visit Croatia one day! Thanks for sharing! πŸ™‚

    Like

  9. fantastic photos… i was in dubrovnik last week…loved it!!! you should wisit mostar too… definetly themost beautiful city in southeast europe.

    Like

  10. What a gorgeous city! Your photos capture it so beautifully.

    Like

  11. Lovely photos! I wanted to go there this summer with my partner, but we were too late to plan it. Next summer hopefully!

    Like

  12. Really lovely photos, looks like a great place to go!

    Like

  13. Oh, what a trip down memory lane – it’s been, what, nine years since I’ve been in Dubrovnik, but your pictures make me remember walking around these same walls with my family, and how young I was then… I hated all that sightseeing then. Now I think I’d enjoy it more – there’s such magic to old towns like this!

    Like

  14. I was there several years ago and walked the entire wall. What great views and what a beautiful medieval town!

    Like

  15. aralacarpenterdaily

    Reblogged this on aralacarpenterdaily and commented:
    These pictures took me back…it looks exactly the same as I remember it. Hope I can go back someday!

    Like

  16. beautiful photos!

    Like

  17. Croatica is on my travel list!

    Like

  18. Lovely photos and beautiful place!

    visit my blog for more travel bug, architecture & DIY http://arhitekturaplus.wordpress.com/

    Like

  19. Wow, I knew I wanted to go to Dubrovnik, but I’ve never seen some of these views before – love the shot of people sunbathing on the rock.

    Like

  20. Great photos…

    Like

  21. I must admit, I had never thought of visiting Croatia before; but your photos have enlightened me. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

    • Thank you for your words! Croatia was a last minute call but am I ever happy I went to discover it! To say I was ‘pleasantly surprised’ is a major understatement. And the sea…wonderful! Thanks everyone for the messages. It’s my second time being ‘pressed’ in the past 9 months…a thrill indeed!

      Like

  22. Really cool shots. Makes me want to go there.

    Like

  23. These are beautiful!!

    Like

  24. So beautiful! Dubrovnik is definitely at the top of my list for places to visit soon. Thanks for these gorgeous photos!!!

    Like

  25. Great photos and stunning place. This post is posted on freshly pressed. Cheers to you. πŸ™‚

    ————–
    colorado springs divorce lawyers

    Like

  26. Wonderful tour along the walls. I must say everything looks a lot brighter, and cleaner than it did when I was there back in the Tito days – they’ve been though some rough times, but still the magnificent city remains. It’s a wonderful thing to think of, isn’t it – continuity, survival.

    Like

  27. Wonderful photos!!

    Like

  28. Great photos. Those rooftops πŸ™‚

    Like

  29. Beautiful photos. I’m on my way to Dubrovnik now, I’ll be there in a few days. This post just makes me all the more excited!

    Like

  30. Pingback: Thanks so much…I’ve been VERSATILED! | The Linen Sash

  31. Thank you! Croatia is my country.
    Have you seen Istria? You must come. Also very nice.
    Welcome to Croatia!

    Like

Leave a Reply

